Posted by: structureofnews | December 15, 2022

The Semaform at Semafor

Here’s a short video I did – well, technically I fronted; someone else (Joe Posner!) did all the work – explaining what we’re trying to do with the story form at Semafor. We call it a – doh – Semaform. And here’s the accompanying story.

(And less, it’s two months old; but when was I ever on time on this blog?)

It’s been an interesting challenge at Semafor to actually implement some of the ideas I’ve been talking about – in mostly theoretical terms for so long – to rethink the basic unit of news from the ground up. And now I’m seeing how well some ideas do – or don’t – work in practice.

It’s been a great adventure. I’ll post more as I dig out from under…


Responses

  1. […] Here goes. And yes, it’s in a Semaform. […]

  2. […] Here’s a story I wrote for Semafor (you know, where I work) about the possible uses of AI chatbots in journalism.I wrote earlier here about how we keep trying to shoehorn their capabilities into things the don’t do well; this is a post exploring what they’re actually good at, and they could help newsrooms. And in case you’re wondering, the story is in a “semaform.” […]


Leave a comment

Categories