Posted by: structureofnews | April 20, 2011

Return to the Baron

Talk about a dream gig.

I first joined Reuters in 1988, and then left in 1991 so I could work outside Singapore – back then, with the Straits Times in Manila.  And now, 20 years later, I’m returning to the news organization that Baron De Reuter (Paul Julius Freiherr von Reuter, more precisely) founded in the 1800s, and the place which really gave me a start as a journalist. (Not to mention paid for my master’s at Columbia.)

I’m really looking forward to what should be an interesting and challenging assignment: I’m taking on the new role of Editor, Data at what’s now part of Thomson Reuters (Thomson acquired Reuters three years ago), with a focus on figuring out ways to mine the company’s huge trove of data as well as think about data journalism at Reuters in general.  That’s about as close a match to my interests – and this blog – as I can get.

There’s huge potential here:  Not just in financial and economic numbers, but also in legal databases and other storehouses and archives of information.   Not to mention a 3,000-person newsroom with a global footprint – and a business model that doesn’t have it gasping for advertising dollars.

I haven’t started yet, and probably won’t for another couple of weeks.  And there’s lots to learn.  So right now I’m working on figuring out the various bits of a vast newsroom and huge company, and looking for projects I can get going on in the near future.

Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Responses

  1. Way to go, Reg!
    Here’s my request: can you dig up some meaningful numbers to support Greenspan’s recent (and pervasive) declare that tax breaks for big business are not and have not yielded the intended result of stimulating the economy or creating jobs. I know its more complicated than that but the myth has got to be broken, ya know? jmo Trish in Madison, WI

  2. Nice one, Reg! But you should have joined Bloomberg!

  3. Congratulations! I got the news from NYMag. @ http://shar.es/H2ItB The Reuters’ web can certainly use more reader-friendly interactives to connect the dots of vast amount of news/opinion/data that’s put out everyday. I look forward to your next entry!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

